Hi, I’m Mark, and here’s the Cliff Notes version of the (insert colorful adjective of your choosing) path that I took to where I am today.

I have always been interested in biology, medicine, technology, and business, but it took me awhile (putting it mildly) to finally put it all together and discover my niche in Health IT.


Medical and Biological Sciences
I enjoyed biology and medicine so much that I ended up studying it for six years in college. I started off at the University of Notre Dame, where I completed a bachelor’s degree in Biology – mostly pre-med courses. During my four years at Notre Dame, I spent one summer conducting research on non-invasive cardiac output monitors during open heart surgery, and two summers working part-time as a Physical Therapy Aide at a hospital. After graduating from Notre Dame, I completed a successful semester at the Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis (MS Program in Physical Therapy) before deciding to transfer to Creighton University, where I completed a Master’s Degree in Biology with a focus on medical physiology and behavioral ecology.


Time for a "Walkabout"
After completing my MS in Biology, I decided that it is was time for a "walkabout" as the Aussies put it. It was time to see the world. For over two years, I worked all kinds of unusual jobs to support my travels. Like what, you ask?

  • Kitale, Kenya (Saiwa Swamp National Park): Conservation Associate - I represented the International Crane Foundation (ICF) in rural Kenya to facilitate and support local wetland and crane conservation efforts. I had previously worked as an Aviculturist with ICF, raising all of the endangered species of cranes of the world (including the famous Whooping Crane) at the non-profit organization's captive breeding facility in Baraboo, Wisconsin.
  • Bath, England: Bartender at a rugby pub. Enough said.
     
  • Various Locations: Data entry, stuff envelopes, process medical insurance claims, and other glamorous office work at places like Future Publishing (Bath, UK), USA Hockey (Colorado Springs, CO), and CorVel Med-Check (Brookfield, WI).
     
  • Gstaad, Switzerland: Biology, Math, and Geography teacher for students aged 13-20 at the Gstaad International School - the most expensive school in the world at that time, according to the Guinness Book of World of Records.


It was a great experience. I like to say that I chose to do my retirement first, and then focused on developing my career after retirement.


Business and IT Professional
Next stop, I completed an MBA from the University of Texas at Austin, with a focus on Operations Management and Corporate Sustainability. That was fifteen years ago. Since then I have held a wide variety of professional positions in corporate sustainability / environmental management, IT, and finally Health IT.

  • KPMG: Consultant - Environmental Management Practice (Dallas, Texas)
  • The Coca-Cola Company: Environmental Programs Manager (Atlanta, Georgia)
  • The Nature Conservancy: Conservation Biologist (White Sands Missile Range, New Mexico)
  • D. Pennington & Associates: Senior Environmental Planner (Albuquerque, New Mexico)
  • Intel Corporation: e-Commerce Customer Advocate / Business Process Reengineering Specialist (Santa Clara, California)
  • Sandia National Laboratories: Senior Member of Technical Staff - International Security Programs (Albuquerque, New Mexico)
  • Fidelity Investments: Senior Operations Project Manager– Health & Welfare (Albuquerque, New Mexico)
  • ABQ Health Partners: Health IT Project Manager (Albuquerque, New Mexico)


As you can see, I wasn't kidding about the long and winding road to Healthcare IT!



...and for fun?
I confess to still having a travel addiction, although I have definitely eased up a bit over the past few years. So far I have visited all 50 US states and 84 countries (22 countries were business trips). My most recent international trips include a successful climb of Mt. Kilimanjaro in Tanzania, and a trip to Ghana and Togo. I also enjoy hiking, soccer, trail "running", playing a wide variety of music on my classical guitar, and hanging around the house with Séamus the Irish Wolfhound. But most of all, I enjoy spending time with my 9-year old son and seeing the world of science, medicine, technology, and music from his perspective.



Thank You!

Thanks for reading, and hopefully I will get a chance to learn about you and your story someday.

Until then, Happy Trails!
Mark